Rohit Kumar Won The 10m Air Rifle Title, Hriday Hazarika Won The Bronze | The Shivalik
Sports Trending news

Rohit Kumar won the 10m Air Rifle title, Hriday Hazarika won the bronze

Rohit Kumar has topped the men’s 10m air rifle in the Surendra Singh Memorial (KSSM) shooting competition. This shooter of Army Marksmanship Unit (MMU) defeated Mohit Manjunath Gowda of Maharashtra 17-13 in the gold medal match at Dr. Karni Singh Shooting Range on Wednesday. While Assam’s Hriday Hazarika won the bronze medal. 

Other winners of the day included Rajasthan’s Olympian Divyansh Singh Panwar, who defeated Hazarika of Assam 17-1 in the junior men’s 10m air rifle. Abhinav Shaw of West Bengal captured the youth title with a 17-11 win over Andhra’s Vejendla Bhanu Praneeth. 

Rohit finished fifth in the qualification round with a score of 629.2 after 60 shots. Mohit managed to secure the eighth and final qualification spot with 628.4, while Navy’s Kiran Ankush Jadhav won the gold medal with 633.5.

However, in the semi-finals Rohit finished in the top two with 261.3 and Manjunath with 260.7 and came out in the title clash. Hriday finished third with 260.2.

The team title in the men’s 10m air rifle went to Haryana as Arshdeep Singh, Gurmukh Singh Sandhu and Samarveer Singh overcame the Rohit-led AMU team with a total of 1883.3 who shared a total of 1880.4 with Gokul Raj and Sandeep. Scored of. Kiran’s brilliant shot won the Navy a bronze medal.